Agalloch - The White EP (Remastered) CD View larger

Agalloch - The White EP (Remastered) CD

New product

13,64 € Tax excluded

0.15 kg
delivery time: 2 - 5 days

More info

From the archives of one of the most revered bands of the metal underground scene of the past two decades comes a reissue of two distinctive and important releases. The ‘White’ EP and the ‘Grey’ EP see seminal Portland act Agalloch strip back the traditional metal elements of their trademark sound to emphasize the band’s more elegiac and progressive influences.

The ‘White’ showcases Agalloch at their most pastoral – gentle acoustic guitars, piano, and field samples combine to create an absorbing, affecting neofolk soundtrack to obscure midsummer rituals in the depths of the wilderness.

The ‘Grey’ meanwhile allows the band to expand into more experimental, ambient territory by reworking two lengthy pieces from the band’s legendary second album ‘The Mantle’, reimagining the songs into something altogether more droning, hypnotic and unsettling.

For fans of the now sadly-defunct band, these two EPs represent truly essential listening. Having remained out of print for many years now, we proudly present sumptuous and long-overdue reissues of these standout recordings. They have been fully remastered by Gus Elg at Skyonion in Portland and each EP also includes an additional bonus track – again, these songs are from deep within the Agalloch archives and again, have been very difficult to track down for fans of the band.

All pressings will feature the artworks as shown on the original releases in order to preserve as fully as possible the band’s unique artistic vision. Nevertheless, to underline the value of these reissues, the first pressings of all formats will feature embossed slipcases made of thick, heavy art card stock, with excellent haptics.

November 29th will give these once-obscure recordings the official reissue treatment and these releases are sure to take pride of place amongst the collections of Agalloch enthusiasts around the globe.

`The White EP` tracklisting:
1.The Isle of Summer
2.Birch Black
3.Hollow Stone
5.Birch White
6.Sowilo Rune
7.Summerisle – Reprise
8.Where Shade Once Was

`The Grey EP` tracklisting:
1.The Lodge (Dismantled)
2.Odal (Nothing Remix)
3.ShadowDub (How Beautiful is a Funeral)